Google Maps Keep a Track about Your Odyssey: Ways to Automatically Delete What it Stores

Yes! You read it right; Google Maps stores the locations you travel to. If Google Maps is not configured properly, it will automatically maintain a detailed log of everywhere you go, whether you’re walking, driving, or even flying anywhere in the world. It’s logged down with details and can spot your location at any moment in time. Don’t worry; there are ways to delete it.

 If we look at it positively, the information can be constructive for you. You might want to look back and see where you went during a past trip or you might want Google to know how long it usually takes to drive somewhere you go often. Still, it gives me chills that Google is storing years and years of that data on its servers.

Google’s Take on the Issue

However, over the summer, Google began to launch a feature using which you can automatically delete your saved location either every 3 months or every 18 months. Anything older than that is automatically deleted.

To remove or reset your details, you have to go to the Google Map’s setting to automate the deletion process.

Following are the Steps: 

 1. Open Google Maps on iPhone or Android

2. Select the menu bar on the top-left of the app

3. Tap on “Your Timeline”

4. Tap the three dots on the top-right of the screen

5. Select “Settings and privacy”

6. Choose “Automatically delete location history”

7. Change the setting from “Keep until I delete manually” to “Keep for 18 months”      or “Keep for 3 months”

I recommend selecting the “3 months option” and make Google delete your data every 3 months. I don’t think there are many reasons to hold on to your history for a period longer than that, though you can select 18 months anytime. Anything older than the time you set will automatically be deleted and Google will continue to delete your data as time goes on.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *